About the GPEMjournal blog

This is the editor's blog for the journal Genetic Programming and Evolvable Machines. The official web site for the journal, maintained by the publisher (Springer) is here. The GPEMjournal blog is authored and maintained by Lee Spector.

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

new members to the GPEM editorial board

 GPEM welcomes the following new members to the editorial board: 
 Anna I Esparcia Alcazar,
 Muhammad Atif Azad,
 Mauro Castelli,
 Ting Hu,
 Michael Lones,
 Evelyne Lutton,
 James Mcdermott,
 Xuan Hoai Nguyen,
 Gabriela Ochoa,
 Gisele Pappa,
 Justyna Petke,
 Leonardo Trujillo Reyes,
 Federica Sarro,
 and Alberto Tonda.

Saturday, November 5, 2016

GPEM 17(4) is now available

The fourth issue of Volume 17 of Genetic Programming and Evolvable Machines is now available for download. It contains: "A two-objective memetic approach for the node localization problem in wireless sensor networks" by Mahdi Aziz, Mohammad-H Tayarani-N & Mohammad R. Meybodi "Evolution of sustained foraging in three-dimensional environments with physics" by Nicolas Chaumont & Christoph Adami "Dynamic feedback neuro-evolutionary networks for forecasting the highly fluctuating electrical loads" by Gul Muhammad Khan & Faheem Zafari "Prediction of expected performance for a genetic programming classifier" by Yuliana Martínez, Leonardo Trujillo, Pierrick Legrand & Edgar Galván-López

Thursday, October 27, 2016

SIGEVOlution newsletter volume 9/3 Features GI special Issue paper

The current issue of SIGEVOlution (9/3) describes one of the articles to appear in the forthcoming special issue on Genetic Improvement, to wit:
"Online Genetic Improvement on the java virtual machine with ECSELR" by Kwaku Yeboah-Antwi and Benoit Baudry, which has just appeared on our web pages as an online first article doi:10.1007/s10710-016-9278-4


Sunday, August 14, 2016

GPEM 17(3) is now available

The third issue of Volume 17 of Genetic Programming and Evolvable Machines is now available for download.

It contains:

"Learning to rank: new approach with the layered multi-population genetic programming on click-through features"
by Amir Hosein Keyhanipour, Behzad Moshiri, Farhad Oroumchian, Maseud Rahgozar & Kambiz Badie

"Prediction of the natural gas consumption in chemical processing facilities with genetic programming"
by Miha Kovačič & Franjo Dolenc

"Unveiling the properties of structured grammatical evolution"
by Nuno Lourenço, Francisco B. Pereira & Ernesto Costa

"An automatic solver for very large jigsaw puzzles using genetic algorithms"
by Dror Sholomon, Omid E. David & Nathan S. Netanyahu

"Mike Preuss: Multimodal optimization by means of evolutionary algorithms"
by Nailah Al-Madi

Wolfgang Banzhaf and Lidia Yamamoto: Artificial Chemistries, MIT Press, 2015
by Kyle I. S. Harrington

Saturday, July 23, 2016

Open Choice

As per our discussion in our recent editorial board meeting, our current model for open access publishing, "Open Choice," is described here.

Renewed Advisory Board and Associate Editors

I am delighted to announce that our Advisory Board has been renewed and now contains the following senior members of our community (with an asterisk marking each new role):

* Wolfgang Banzhaf (on Advisory Board as well as Founding Editor)
* Stephanie Forrest (new to board)
David Goldberg
Erik Goodman
John Koza
* Marc Schoenauer (elevation from regular board member)
* Andy Tyrrell (elevation from Associate Editor)

I am also quite excited about the renewal/expansion of the Associate Editors, including the addition of a new Thematic Area Editor for Software Engineering:

James A. Foster (Area Editor for Life Sciences)
* Mark Harman (new to board, Area Editor for Software Engineering, which is a new Thematic Area)
Hitoshi Iba
Krzysztof Krawiec
William B. Langdon (Resource Review Editor)
Julian Miller
* Alberto Moraglio (elevation from regular board member)
Una-May O’Reilly (Area Editor for Data Analytics and Knowledge Discovery)
* Lukas Sekanina (elevation from regular board member)
Moshe Sipper (Area Editor for Games)
Stephen Smith
Terence Soule
Marco Tomassini
* Martin Trefzer (elevation from regular board member)
Leonardo Vanneschi